My Healthy Eating Plan/Emotional Eating- Week One

Hello everyone:

I started my first week of healthy eating/ dieting this week. I joined ediets.com. I am doing the nutrihand diet plan. I follow the plan in terms of caloric consumption and I record everything I eat. However, I make a lot of substitutions because I am on a budget and I have to make due with what I have.

For example, one recipe called for salmon, I didn’t have all of the ingredients, so I used another recipe for salmon and tracked the calories. I’ve lost 2 pounds this week.

What I Did On the Surface:

1) I tracked all of my caloric intake

2) I prepared my meals in advance- always the night before, I boiled my eggs, cut my vegetables, cooked the fish. I am the type of person who comes home from work and I am usually very hungry, if I haven’t prepared anything, I’ll eat junk food.

3) I ate lunch. I usually skip lunch and overeat at dinner. This week, every day I ate a real lunch. Light bread or wheat bread with turkey breast, light swiss cheese and Every day with lunch I ate an apple, without fail. Even if I didn’t feel like eating the apple, I made myself eat it and it helped to curb my hungry.

 

4) I mostly snacked on fruits and vegetables-  I took whole carrots (which are cheaper and healthier than baby carrots), peeled them with my awesome vegetable peeler (which I never used to use) and cut them up. They look just like baby carrots. I eat them with a small wedge of laughing cow light cheese and it’s delicious. I also snacked on grapes and I treated myself with the balanced breaks from sargento for Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday.

 

5) I wore a pedometer. You can get a pedometer for reasonable prices. I used my old weight watchers pedometer. I made it a goal to do at least the recommended 10,000 steps a day, most days I exceeded that. The best thing about the pedometer is you literally can get your steps in anywhere. There is something called House Walking, which was coined by Lisa Lillien of Hungry girl. You can get your steps in walking around the house or walking in place while doing the dishes, while ironing, while watching TV. You can walk back and forth through the house, you can take the stairs.  If you do anything, I recommend getting a pedometer. You can get them for affordable prices online and in stores. 

6) I also did 3 days of quick exercises.

 

-I did Jeanette Jenkins- 10 minute minute Booty Camp

– I used the stair twister for 15 minutes, while holding hand weights

-You can order the stair twister on amazon and it’s portable and very convenient and hand weights you can get at Walmart.

 

-I did ten minutes of mini trampoline workouts (i’ll give you my routine later in the week)

I never stepped into the gym, but got enough activity. I think the biggest disservice done to people when trying to lose weight is saying you can’t get a good workout unless you’re in the gym. Walking is one of the best forms of exercise and you can do it anywhere. You don’t have to be in the gym to work out. 

I plan to add dancing to my workout routine this week. 

7) I drank water. I invested in a bottle of water and carried it everywhere and drank it every day and filled it at least once during the day.

8) I treated myself- Friday, I allowed myself to relax and enjoy a glass of wine and a food I liked. It’s okay to treat yourself once a week and eat something you like, as long as you don’t go super overboard, it is okay. What mattes is what you’re doing 99% of the time, not 1 night in the week only.

On a Deeper Level

1) Trying to be more positive about my body- We live in a world where if you don’t look a certain way or dress a certain way and meet a certain beauty standard, you’re made to believe that something is wrong with you and that your body is not valuable. One of the main reasons that I have struggled with emotional eating and weight gain is because I’ve always felt like my body wasn’t good enough.

We live in a society where if you’re not thin, white and what’s considered “hot,” you’re treated like you’re not a real woman. Especially, if you’re a Black woman, it can be doubly hard not to be negatively impacted by these beauty ideals, which are really white supremacist in nature. The idea that no matter what you do, you can never be good enough can be depressing in itself, which can lead to overeating and weight gain. There is a whole history of mistreatment of Black women’s bodies and we, as Black women, have never really been allowed to love and value our bodies .

However, while jogging last Saturday, I had an epiphany. I was jogging and I was tired and breathing heavy,  it was drizzling and deserted out. I thought to myself, as tired and exhausted as I was, I somehow felt like my system was cleansed. I thought to myself, what an incredible thing to have a body that can do so much ,what a blessing.

This made me think that we have amazing bodies. Our bodies can do so much for us when we treat it well. This is my body and I am going to value it and care for it. It doesn’t matter what society says, it doesn’t matter what a man says, it’s my body and it’s my job to take care of myself because a body is a wonderful gift and the most precious gift you’ve ever been and ever will be given. Don’t worry about comparing yourself to others, just take care of your body, value your body and your body will do its part.

So I repeat the saying that “my body is a gift and a blessing, it can do so much, take care of yourself.” You have to keep repeating it and believe it.

2) Being grateful- it has helped me to be grateful for the food that I do have and slow down in general and just take in life. Take in the beauty, take in the smell of flowers, take in the breath of fresh air and just slow down and be grateful for every bit of life.

This has helped me, but it is a journey and this is only week one. I plan to continue my healthy eating this week.  BTW, this journey is far form over, I have to tell myself over and over again that my body is valuable, but keep saying it and you will believe it.

In Summation: 

1) Walk, walk, walk (a pedometer helps a lot)

2) Prepare vegetables in advance and snack on vegetables

3) Drink plenty of water

4) Value your body, it is a gift 

How has your week been?….

Goals for Next Week:

1. Pray every night (meditate if you’re not a prayer type of person )

2. Dance more

What’s on My Weight Loss Book List

1) Deliver Me from Negative Self-Talk by Lynn R Davis

2) Work it Out: The Black Woman’s Guide to Getting the Body You Always Wanted 

3) Slim Down Sister by Roniece Weaver

4) Beck Diet Solution

5) Made to Crave

6) Women, Food and God

7) God Made Me Beautiful, but I didn’t Know It

My Healthy Eating Plan/Emotional Eating- Week One

One thought on “My Healthy Eating Plan/Emotional Eating- Week One

  1. yeah good job. I have gone to the gym with my mom 3 times this week. u don’t have to go to the gym to get a good workout some of the vids on youtube will give u a great cardio workout. I like fitnessblender vids as well as kai wheeler. I wish I could do keaira lashae dance vids but I can’t its fun to watch though.

    As far as eating right I have days where I mess up but instead of giving up and eating junk all day I make the other meals as healthy as possible.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

