Black People: Have You Ever Considered Relocating to another Country?

Black Women’s History in this country encompassed in one photo: “Silenced, dehumanized, subordinated by white man.”

Have you ever considered relocating to another country? Sometimes I feel like the history of systematic discrimination, the institutional racism and disenfranchisement of Black people is too much to bear. I feel so violated as a person when I am constantly mischaracterized, stereotyped and mistreated just based on my skin color.

The stereotypes make me feel like I’m being stuffed into a box and all the negative stereotypes are just suffocating me.

When I was very young, I used to think that racism was a thing of the past. I never experienced Jim Crow racism with COLORED and WHITE ONLY signs in the window, so I didn’t believe it was a problem. Sure, I knew I was different. My white classmates always wanted to touch my hair and everything, but I didn’t think too much of it.

There was the one time that I was invited to my white classmate’s house to go swimming. Her father was prominent member of a country club, he took us there, we swam in the pool and ate french fries. Later, I found out that the club didn’t accept Blacks or Jews and the only reason I was allowed to swim there was because of her father. Basically, my presence there was a fluke, but my family would not have been welcome there. Things like that happened, but I always found a way to excuse them somehow.

It wasn’t until my senior year when I had my wake up call that I accepted that race was indeed a systemic issue. I had inquired about a summer job at a local store that my friend worked at, the manger said ,” they weren’t hiring graduating seniors.” I took him for his word and didn’t inquire any further. Later, my friend told me that “her manager keep hiring all these seniors for two months before they go to college.” I thought back to the store and I noticed that I had never seen any African-Americans working there. I didn’t say anything, but i knew in my heart what had happened. It wasn’t until later when my mother visited that very store and told me how no one had offered to help her and that the lady wouldn’t even look at her that I told anyone what I had experienced.

Why had the store manage told me they weren’t hiring seniors and then hire a bunch of seniors of 2 months before they went to college. It wasn’t fair.

I had worked so hard to be a “nice person,” but at the end of the day, it didn’t matter that I got good grades, it didn’t matter that I went a nice prep school in the City, it didn’t matter that I lived in the suburbs, it didn’t matter that I tried to be a nice person, when he looked at me, he saw one thing, my skin color and that was enough for him to decide he didn’t want me working there.

That was a dehumanizing experience and I have not looked at things the same since then. All the time, racism has been so in my face, but I chose not to see it. The poorest areas and the worst schools are reserved for the Black people, there is so much depth to the racism in this country, how could I have been so blind to it?

Do you all ever think about relocating outside the United States?

What would happen if there came a time where Black people needed to flee the country, do you have a plan in place just in case?

It doesn’t hurt to have a plan in case you need to leave the country ever: You should always have a passport and some liquid assets on hand just in case. Research a country that you can flee to and find out if you need a VISA to get in, have job prospects lined up, there are lots of places where you can get work teaching English etc, research and find out where, watch for the signs and leave if you feel that you need to.

There are some great things about the United States and my family is here, we’ve lived here for many many years, generations and it has been my home and is my home, but it is really hard to feel safe when you are being mistreated  and when you’re made to feel like a perpetual foreigner and not a full person, even though you were born in this country and your family has been here for generations. It’s an uneasy feeling to say the least.

I don’t know what might happen to Black people if sh-t really hit the fan.

Unfortunately, if something ever happened, lower income Black people (the people who are most at risk) may not have any way to leave the country. If Black people were supporting each other, we’d have a way to get them out, that’s the sad thing.

Black People: Have You Ever Considered Relocating to another Country?

10 thoughts on “Black People: Have You Ever Considered Relocating to another Country?

  1. Lord of Mirkwood says:

    I’m not black, but I’ve sometimes considered relocating (not seriously). I would suggest London – they speak English, the police don’t carry guns, and if you don’t feel like being immersed in traditional British culture there is a vibrant black community.

    Like

  2. I think Marcus Garvey was right. We will never get justice under this racist power structure. Leaving this place is always a good option. We just have to have full confidence we can to it ourselves. Too many blacks are scared to leave because they don’t think they can survive without Europeans. At some point we have to do things on our own. We must have confidence in our own abilities.

    Like

  3. Nicole Therin says:

    I was just thinking about this very thing a few days ago. It’s disheartening to see how black people are treated in this country, in 2015. It makes me want to go far away to another place, and find some peace for once in my life…

    Like

  4. Omay Farlane says:

    “I had worked so hard to be a “nice person,” but at the end of the day, it didn’t matter that I got good grades, it didn’t matter that I went a nice prep school in the City, it didn’t matter that I lived in the suburbs, it didn’t matter that I tried to be a nice person”

    I feel the same way, I hold on my tears until I can’t do it anymore and end up with Panic Attacks and it’s getting worse. I worked hard too, only to be bullied, laugh at and I always had to laugh too, all the time. I think I’m in the point of snap at them which I did yesterday night at my job. Josephine Baker went to France and she became a great jazz singer and all that. If she was here, she will be unnoticed, erased from the view like Esther Jones who was also a great jazz singer and some bitch took her voice style and adapted as her own while Jones disappeared into the scene. Kinda like Iggy vs Banks last year. It seems no matter what we tried to accomplish with our purpose, our goals, there’s the “white man” to destroy what we have created. Like in my post I posted about the Black Wall Street, in Oklahoma that was obliterated by the KKK. If they create their own utopia in some other country, they would be left alone, perhaps becoming a superpower.

    Yes, if I had the money, I would move far away from this hellhole of a nation. But I’m broke so I have to gather my strength to fight it even if my life will vanish in an instant. It’s about fight or flight.

    Like

  5. I think leaving is a good idea. Blacks will always be the ‘other’ in America and will always resent it. On the other hand, the people I know from African nations think of themselves as individuals, not defined by their skin colour. I suppose this is because where they come from, they are the ‘norm’, so to speak.

    Like

  6. Jules says:

    I have been preaching this for however long and was always cussed out for it. You don’t even have to really leave just have a place prepared a simple condo(not a timeshare) in say even US Virgin Islands, you can use it as a vacation rental and earn some income from it and at least you know you have it if you ever need it. After seeing the Katrina disaster and how that worked out for blacks I have looked at things very very differently. How many black ppl are preppers, how many have even $500 cash stashed away at home in the event of a disaster, how many know how to hunt, farm food, get a fire started if needs be? How many have a disaster preparedness plan in place? The most important thing is to have a plan in place, research nations that are receptive to black Americans, because it is important that you are welcomed wherever it is you are going. Angola is apparently booming and there are lots of opportunities for expats, they are so booming that Portugal even went to them asking for financial aid, Angola may not be a bad place to look into working and saving some money and figuring out what you want to do. The Caribbean is very close to those on the East coast and the majority of the countries are black run nations, you could take a cruise, or visit the various countries individually that appeal to you to see how you feel there, get a feel for the culture and the place and if it is a good fit and you can find a way to live there. Vacationing and living somewhere are two very different things, so make sure you feel a connection to the place before you pick up and go there.

    @Omay There was a lovely article in the Daily Mail about a woman who was offered a job to teach Pilates on a resort in the Turks and Caicos islands, she is thriving and got the offer at a time when she was broke and laden with debt. Apparently the job will allow her to be debt free in 1yr, she’s a black woman, mid 40s too. I am not sure what your industry is, but if you are hired abroad they will pay for your travel and accommodations, so you could leave with very little money. A very close friend of mine was able to pay off all her student loans after working in Korea for 1yr. Don’t give up hope!

    Like

Leave a Reply

