What I’ve Been Up To?

Hello everyone,

 

I haven’t been posting as regularly because I’ve been busy working. I am teaching after school and it’s a full time job that doesn’t pay well. I have to work with children with emotional and academic issues.

Any way, I’ve been trying to read more. I just finished the book, Black Boy by Richard Wright. Overall, I enjoyed it. It is a bildungsroman, a coming-of-age story of Richard Wright’s childhood and adolescence. He grows up in Mississippi and travels to Chicago. He has dreams of becoming a writer, but in the Jim Crow south, just getting a grade school education is a struggle. He struggles to get food and overcome racism and is forced to steal just to get by. He hates stealing, but eventually, he gets enough money to move to Chicago and he brings his mother and family with him.

He struggles in Chicago working under white people in stores and kitchens. Eventually, he joins a Black communist group and begins getting a chance to write more. His journey leads him to become a writer, despite the fact that many white people throughout his life told him he would never be a writer.

One thing that stood out to me in the book was a particular scene where two white men instigated a conflict between Wright and another young black man. They would go to both the boys and make up stories about how one of the young men had threatened to kill the other. So, as a result both Wright and the other boy had to be on guard of one another. The white men who instigated the conflict, wanted to be entertained by a knife fight between the two, but Wright knew better and went and spoke to the other black man about the rumors that the white men had been spreading about them. As a result, they never killed each other, but they did end up fighting each other in a boxing rink to earn money.

I am now reading Twelve Years a Slave by Solomon Northup. I am almost finished It is heart wrenching, but I wanted to read it before the movie comes out. I plan to see the movie.

So that is what I’ve been up to, sorry this isn’t the most exciting blog post. I will try to write more from now on.

What I’ve Been Up To?

7 thoughts on “What I’ve Been Up To?

  1. Pay It Forward says:

    Good article, Peanut. This is the first I’m hearing of wicked whites attempting to instigate, and for sheer amusement yet, a knife between Wright and another Black man. Though I cannot say that I’m the least bit surprised by it. . . .

    Like

  2. Thats a very nice book Peanut, I read that book back in elementary school. In fact, Richard Wright is one of my favorite authors. I had a class assignment to do on his other book,Native Son, but I did not like it as much as Black Boy. His book Black Boy really does give a good look at how our lives as black people get affected by white supremacy

    Right now, I starting to read a book called Genocide of the Mind. It deals with the issues of Native Americans and what a surprise, the same exact issues that African Americans face(discrimination from white society, internal racism, poverty, poor health, low education,high unemployment, high rates of mortality), the American Indians also face.

    Anyway Peanut, nice to hear a young black woman doing something positive. Even though you might not be filled with cash, at least you are doing something good with the kids. Best of luck my dear!

    Like

Leave a Reply

