The George Zimmerman Verdict Should Be a Wake Up Call: Black People We’re not Valued in This Society

The George Zimmerman verdict has been a painful wake up call for many Black Americans. It reminds us that at the end of the day, we aren’t really valued or truly seen as equals in this country. Even with a half-Black President, we still are not treated fairly. We still are incarcerated at unprecedented rates, we still are receiving harsher sentences for committing the same crimes as white folks, we still earn less on average, we’re still unemployed more and we are killed more. Black women are disrespected by EVERYONE, including Black men.(See Marissa Alexander who was disrespected by her husband and the criminal justice system) We do not control our media image and both Black men and Black women tend to die younger than white people.

This country hasn’t been very kind to us. We are the children of West/Africa who were stolen from our land, so we’ve never been fully accepted here because we’ve had no choice, but to stay here.

This has been a wake up call for many Black people. It’s been a wake up call for me because I’ve realized that it doesn’t matter how much we, as Black people, try to assimilate or “integrate,” into white society, we will NEVER be accepted as equals by this country…never, not as Black people any way. I now realize that assimilation and integration has effectively destroyed the Black community. Yeah, I know that is going to tick some people off, but integration has destroyed our unity and now we are completely dependent on white people for jobs, positive media images, justice and even life…as is exemplified by Trayvon Martin. The criminal justice system has our lives in its hands.

Today, we have people promoting interracial marriage as a superior alternative to Black relationships. There is nothing wrong (inherently) with marrying or dating interracial, but the more I see, the more I realize that for the most part love has little to do with the reason that many Black people get into interracial relationships. Probably 85-90% of the Black American population overall is brainwashed to hate ourselves for being Black. We’ve been taught this since the day we were dragged off the slave ships. Everywhere we look, we are taught that to just being Black  alone is crime because that is the message that we are taught in this white supremacist nation.

From the earliest days we are taught to hate being Black, we are taught that white people are heroes in school. We are taught that Black’s have contributed nothing to society, so too many of us aspire to assimilate into white society.

My life is a prime example of this mentality. Although I have two Black parents, I’ve grown up in a predominately white world. The first thing my parents did was send me to a predominately white prep school and buy a house in a predominately white neighborhood because those were “the best.” Many of us shun HBCU’s and other predominately Black organizations because well…they’re just not good enough.

But, look at me now…after attending a predominately white school and living in a predominately white neighborhood for more than 20 years, I still get the side eye when I go out walking in my neighborhood with my dog. I still have white people asking me with a perplexed expression on their faces “did you just move here?” And my white prep school…the majority of my white female “friends,” do not even call, text or check up on me…after we went to school of 10,12, 13 years. We don’t even really talk.

So, what have I really gained from being assimilated into whiteness…not a lot. I’m still seen as an outsider, it didn’t matter how “properly” I speak, it didn’t matter that I had no idea what it meant to “speak Ebonics,” and it didn’t really matter how well I did in school…I was never fully accepted and I know that I never will be…which brings me to the discussion of Black people assimilating and interracial relationships.

In a letter about Trayvon Martin, Kola Boof wrote:

” I am devastated because the murder of Trayvon Martin…and the racist-inhumane acquittal of the blatantly racist [white]Latino…Good Ol Boy George Zimmerman only stands to remind us GLOBALLY that Other Humans have never placed value on African lives…I wish Black Americans would stop this belief that anyone with a smidgen of color is automatically in the same boat and is our ally…And to you Black men who keep claiming that white women are superior to Black women—and the women who look like your mothers are the lowest creatures on earth—this is exactly what you deserve. Your white queen savior (eye roll) really showed up for your asses today. Just like Paula Deen and Susan Smith…Charles Ramsey saved the lives of 3 “pretty white girls,” and they got on national TV and thanked everyone for their freedom, except him…the man who saved them.”

source

On another thread, a Black woman who is married to a white man asked the question,
“Can my white husband empathize when our Black [biracial] son is racially profiled?”
Both Kola Boof and the Black woman who is married to a white man bring up some great points. We’re viewed as outsiders in this country, no matter what we do. No matter how heroic or accomplished…we’re outsiders and for the most part white people do not understand us.  Can we expect a white man or white woman (Even when we’re in a romantic courtship with them) to truly understand what it likes to be Black…can we expect them to really have our backs in general?
Everyone where, I see white men and white women either claiming that race had nothing to do with the verdict or that Trayvon Martin attacked Zimmerman and somehow that makes what Zimmerman did to Trayvon Martin, justified. Nevermind that Zimmerman followed Trayvon for no reason, posed a threat to his safety and instigated the conflict. In their minds, Zimmerman (who is more white than Trayvon) had every right to shoot him because he was protecting the white neighborhood from Black men like Trayvon, who (in their minds) posed an imminent threat to white women and children, as Juror B37 alluded to.
This is why, I question whether or not it’s realistic for Black people as a collective to expect white people to understand our struggles and our plight when we’re in a relationship with them. So many Black people are claiming that “love knows no color,” and that their relationships with white people are built on love. In some cases, this may be true, but it would be naive not to at least question whether or not intermarriage with white people is yet another form of assimilation for Black people.
I have come to find that , just as it is impossible for most white people to grow up in this white-centric culture, without internalizing the belief that white is somehow superior and normal…while other (mainly Black) is abnormal and dysfunctional, it is impossible for Black people to grow up in this culture and truly love being Black. We internalize the same hatred for Blackness, that white people do. The Black doll-white doll test, which Black children fail generation after generation exemplifies this notion.
As I wrote in my other post,
” From the day that Black people are born we are told that we’re inferior and unworthy of equality and love. We are encouraged by the media [and society] to degrade other Black people… Black people in general are portrayed as dysfunctional, yet the media markets interracial relationships (solely to Black people) and portrays them as being superior to Black relationships… Movies like Precious, The Help, Flight and Monster’s Ball all portray Black relationships as dysfunctional…Films like Red Tails, Save the Last Dance and Hitch portray Black men as being happier with a non-Black woman…white supremacy is rampant and Blacks are indoctrinated from birth to view whiteness as superior…it is my opinion that some Black people, more than people will admit, enter into interracial relationships with negative views of other Black people. There is a reason that most Black children pick the white doll in the Black doll vs. white doll experiment…we are indoctrinated to view whiteness as being more beautiful, more natural and superior to Blackness. It would be naïve to think that this mentality would not manifest itself in our dating and marital choices as well.”
I just do not think that it’s realistic to expect that Black people will ever be valued or treated as equal in this white supremacist culture. I think we will not survive longer here…at least not as Black people.
Unless, some things change.
I feel that this is a wake up call to all Black people, especially those who are preaching that “love is colorblind,” yet hold all these biases against Black people. We either need to stop relying on white people for everything and build our own separate culture and society here in America by creating strong, Black neighborhoods, having Black mothers and Black fathers in the home, sending children to good schools in Black neighborhoods with a fair representation of Black school teachers, teaching them about Black history, supporting Black business, start creating jobs where we have a fair chance of unemployed instead of always having to go to white people…only to be “last hired, first fired.” We need to start supporting Black colleges, start our own Black media where we can portray ourselves positively and we need to just support each other in general. Stop the colorism, stop the racialized sexism that is rampant in our community.
I feel we can only survive here if we stop pushing the idea that assimilation is the best thing for us because assimilation has not gotten us any where…it’s destroyed our community.
I feel that if Black people came together, we would really have a better chance of survival in this country. However, just like Black Wall street, I have a suspicion that those white supremacist in charge would not want to see Black people truly united and this brings me to my next point.
Mass Black Exodus. Perhaps Black Americans should consider moving back to West/Central African or South America, the Caribbean or any other country where Blacks can be Black without feeling guilt.
I have been considering living abroad at least for a time…I don’t know that I would be able to move, but I would like to get away and just go to Africa or Bahia again just to get a break.
I don’t know. The outlook doesn’t look good…we need to pull it together and stop this assimilation nonsense…
We need to value ourselves as Black people because clearly no one else is.
Final thought is this. Trayvon Martin resided in a gated community…but why was the community gated in the first place? WHO were they even trying to keep out by putting up the gates???
We can’t expect to be fully accepted and treated as equals in a white gated community, when we’re the very people they wanted to keep out by putting the gates up in the first place.
Wake up, Black people…I have a feeling things will only get worse in the future…contrary to what Obama says…as soon as he’s out of office…things could get much worse.
The George Zimmerman Verdict Should Be a Wake Up Call: Black People We’re not Valued in This Society

29 thoughts on “The George Zimmerman Verdict Should Be a Wake Up Call: Black People We’re not Valued in This Society

  1. donatelloturtle says:

    As long as we don’t give up the fight against racism, both flagrant and unconscious, we will eventually beat it. You can’t move a mountain in a day. The way I see it, I’m just trying to navigate and fight the system where I can, so that others, including the next generation, will be able to build upon the work that I’ve done, and hopefully have an easier time with it.

    Like

  2. nothing for me to add except these.
    “Who taught you to hate the texture of your hair? Who taught you to hate the color of your skin? Who taught you to hate the shape of your nose and the shape of your lips? Who taught you to hate yourself from the top of your head to the soles of your feet? Who taught you to hate your own kind? Who taught you to hate the race that you belong to so much so that you don’t want to be around each other? No… Before you come asking Mr. Muhammad does he teach hate, you should ask yourself who taught you to hate being what God made you.” (Malcolm X – May 22, 1962, Los Angeles

    Deuteronomy 30: 3 that the Lord your God will bring you back from captivity, and have compassion on you, and gather you again from all the nations where the Lord your God has scattered you. 4 If any of you are driven out to the farthest parts under heaven, from there the Lord your God will gather you, and from there He will bring you. 5 Then the Lord your God will bring you to the land which your fathers possessed, and you shall possess it. He will prosper you and multiply you more than your fathers. 6 And the Lord your God will circumcise your heart and the heart of your descendants, to love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul, that you may live.

    7 “Also the Lord your God will put all these curses on your enemies and on those who hate you, who persecuted you

    Like

  3. AnthonyLT says:

    My dear, sweet young sister…I need to reflect on this post a little before I comment further. Thank you for taking the time to flesh out your thoughts. Be back in a day or two.

    Like

  4. somewhat annoyed with the complaining says:

    this post seems like a rant. I think black people in America complain too much. Why is it that Africans are the largest group in America that hold the most degrees? Why is it that when I was in school most of the black people were were perusing degrees in STEMS were Africans? They come to this country seeking a better life and they manage quite well, same with Afro Caribbeans. yes white people are racist, but they have always been racists, and they will continue to be racists until the tides change. their Culture is racists, that’s just who they are
    I have three bits of advice for black people who don’t like our “dire” situation: If you can’t handle it

    Immigrate
    Immigrate
    Immigrate

    Go to Africa their economies are booming!!

    But don’t complain so much. Just focus on education and raising you family well. Give white people no excuses.

    Like

    1. Peanut says:

      hey don’t tell me to stop complaining when I am voicing legitimate concerns. that is condescending and especially don’t tell me not to do it on my blog.

      Like

    1. Peanut says:

      and I think a lot of people from African countries come to America just to try and make some money and then they return home because they know this country isn’t kind to Black people in general. My Nigerian friend told me that was the reason he came to the US to try and make money and when he is ready, he’s going back to Nigeria where he has a wealthy family, a big house and everything that he could need…so why would he want to stay here when he doesn’t have to?

      Black Americans on the other hand, MANY of us who CAME through this racist system, not like our African brothers and sisters who had the CHOICE to come here, we were FORCED to come here…and we cannot ALL afford to go abroad and live. Some of us can and do choose, but most of us cannot…so that is something to consider…don’t give me any “just leave” stuff because it’s not that simple for everyone and we have every right to be resentful and angry/

      Like

  5. justwhatineed says:

    They are good at telling people (black people in particular) if you don’t like what’s being done to you, EMIGRATE. Listen…. me and my people aren’t going ANYWHERE! These fools are crazy. To much black blood, aching muscles, whipped skin, burnt bodies, castration, mutilation, being sold, raped body/mind, and tears have been shed for us to give up and EMIGRATE out of this country. That’s what it took to build this country and dammit…. I am not about to give NO white person that kind of satisfaction. If we did leave, then allllll the things black folks made/created (and I do mean ALLLL) is coming with us. Then they could rebuild this country like they should’ve done centuries ago…BY THEMSELVES!

    Like

      1. and the fact that Africa as a continent was raped, pillaged and colonized by European countries for years and years has nothing to do with the struggles many people in various countries across Africa face?…and the wealth, which was generated from the free labor of Blacks all around the world had nothing to do with the wealth that was funneled into Europe? Lloyd of London’s made a name for itself by insuring slave ships, the blood diamonds and gold trade in Africa, which was exploited by wealthy white men made Europe and the west what it is today.

        Like

  6. B.R. says:

    Hello Peanut, this is my first time on your blog. Im a young black man from NYC(my family is from Trinidad and I understand your feelings. I think in the life of every black person living in a Eurocentric society, you are torn between the mainstream theory(the multiculturalism, interracial marriage,etc.) which the so-called “successful” black people do and the more militant “Black Power” theory of trying to make black people have more control over their lives. I dont want to sound negative but sometimes I truly think that we are a doomed group of people.Lets hope for better days

    Like

      1. B.R. says:

        Thanks for your reply Peanut. I hope you dont mind if I share my story as a black person poisoned by this Babylon Eurocentric society.
        Im a first generation West Indian(as I said, my family is from Trinidad & Tobago) and as said I was born and raised in NYC, Brooklyn to be exact. When I was growing up during my early teen years(13-15 yrs old), I had some knowledge about black nationalism(e.g. Huey Newton & the Black Panthers, Malcolm X) however when I went to high school(my school was mostly Black), I ran into some “lets get over slavery ” integration minded Negroes and some Negroes that were just plain ghetto that they really did not have a clue or concern about anything in life(let alone race relations). Since I was dealing with two radical opposing forces to my developing idea of understanding Black Power, I too became an Uncle Tom(trust me, I aint ghetto, so I could not go down that road). Also being from New York City, I fell into the stupid idea that New York is “international” and a “melting pot”(New York is just as racist as Alabama but its a great pretender). So I started to bash black women(too ghetto), bash black men(too lazy),bash black people in general(pull yourself up by the bootstraps),say I got Indian in my family as I have wavy hair from my mom who is a mulatto (African/European ancestry), say I aint that dark(trust me, Im dark skinned), I need some light skinned babies(I only wanted light skin black girls as partners) and I even mistrusted the other Afro-Caribbean groups(e.g. Haitians, Jamaicans,etc.). I was an “UPPITY NEGRO” ready for the white world or so I thought!
        When I went out of my predominately black environment and starting dealing with the wider Eurocentric society, I was feeling good. I “MADE IT” as us black folks would say.A series of THEN happened to me. First, the comments started coming “You dont act black” or “do black people do this and that”. Then I realize that even though I though I spoke with white folks, I never really had any major social dealings with them. Then I started to look around New York and I saw the contrast between the black areas such as Central Brooklyn and Harlem and the white areas like Bensonhurst and Staten Island(unless a black person is in an interracial relationship with a white person, you rarely see Negroes in these parts of NYC). Then, I started to research how white supremacy affected other non-Europeans(e.g. American Indians, Australian Aboriginals, Maori, Native Hawaiians,etc.). In fact, the Australian Aboriginals had freedom rides and a Black Power movement in Sydney to free themselves of white rule.Then I found a blog called Afroerotik that shocked me, as I saw how color has a HUGE role to play within sexuality. Then I found your website and other black bloggers that basically confirmed my feelings for a long time about White America(I was not a delusional Negro,lol!). Then I found some websites that explained that white supremacy has a possible social(nurture) construct as it is rooted in a capitalism framed to exploit non-whites. Then I found some information that explained that white supremacy has a possible genetic/biological construct(e.g. Iceman Inheritance).
        Forgive me for my long post, but hopefully my story could help other black people understand how truly damaged we are by mental colonialism.Once again, I respect what you and the other black bloggers are doing to help us heal because we are damaged human beings. While I fell into the Uncle Tom trap, I feel that everything in life happens for a reason to help us understand things because I had no idea how deep racism was within America even when I was weak black nationalist. Now, to be clear, I follow the laws, I am respectful to every person I come in touch with, and I am not a radical. So what did I learn? I will probably never be a strong black nationalist like Louis Farrakhan or the Nation of Islam, the late Sonny Carson or the Bobo Shanti Rastafari group in Jamaica but as an aware Pan-Africanist, I learned that as black people living in a Eurocentric society, ALWAYS BE ON YOUR GUARD AND DONT BE COLORBLIND!

        Like

  7. As a Black American women of Jamaican descent, I honestly can’t stand AmeriKKKlan. This is a racist country that devalues Black life. I don’t see why my relatives in Jamaica come here and think that they are in heaven just coming to AmeriKKKlan. I don’t mind going back to my parents’ homeland but Jamaica’s crime rate is getting worse and worse each year.

    And the worst thing the Black Community did was integrate and assimilate with White AmeriKKKlan. You guys should have build your own communities and relied on your strength and spirit to survive not your enemies. It doesn’t make sense trying to win the approval of Whites in this country. And I think things will get worse for Black people in AmeriKKKlan, trust me.

    Like

  8. B.R. says:

    Another point that I want to make to Peanut

    Like most of you guys on this blog, I used to think that racism was matter of mere ignorance or lack of diversity. Thats is false. The whole point of racism is when there is an ideology of self-worth and feeling like “a big boss”. So I realize that the racism that we feel from White America is not due to them being ignorant, its due to them being SMART! They know the value of their whiteness and how it puts them in a much higher human category than you. And if you try to make an attempt to talk to them about race, their sense of self and guilt complex is so deep,these are the proverbs you might here

    Possible Proverbs
    -Blacks are delusional
    -Blacks cry about everything
    -You are the hater
    -You’re the racist
    -There is a race problem?
    -I’m colorblind(interesting even kids see race-http://www.cnn.com/2010/US/05/19/doll.study.reactions/index.html)
    -I dont see race, why do you?
    -You are racist for saying something is racist

    Evidence is here-http://www.mediaite.com/online/poll-majority-of-whites-see-america-as-colorblind-nearly-80-of-african-americans-do-not/

    As a healthcare worker, I found this interesting article to disprove colorblindness.Even babies see race-http://medicalxpress.com/news/2012-09-babies-gender-months.html

    I realized that America does not have a race problem- America has a truth and pragmatic problem about race, in that whites say one thing and they practice another. Integration, which in my mind was barely helpful for us black folks, only could work via the TRUTH. As Malcolm X said “The white man and the black man have to be able to sit down at the same table. The white man has to feel free to speak his mind without hurting the feelings of the Negro. The so-called Negro has to feel free to speak his mind without hurting the feelings of the white man. Then they can bring the issues that are under the rug out on top of the table and take an intelligent approach to getting the problem solved.” We really need to have honest discussions and evaluate how race affects our lives as people of African ancestry. However, as I said, since the water of White America’s self worth and guilt complex is basically an ocean, I doubt it that would really happen.
    In other words to you Peanut, Im glad that as a young black woman you have this blog to get a better understanding and vent your feelings of what it is like for a Negro to live in this Eurocentric society. To be fair, there are some whites that will open their ears to your concerns but on a group level, and a from realistic point of view in this so-called “post-racial” era,its a waste of time to even bring up the argument. In my opinion, when dealing with White America, be respectful, and obey the laws but hopefully you could bring your talents to back to your homebase(black)community.

    Like

  9. Imhotep says:

    We were never valued in Amerikkka. Unfortunately, a lot of Us are conditioned and fine with that. First, We had the Europeans enslave and condition Us. Then, Europeans (All American) went on to say “that we are all human” during the 1960’s. Instead of Our People questioning why they wanted to be in relationships with yts who were open about their feelings, they went along with everything. Now, I get the feeling that a lot of Our People in Amerikkka see Trayvon as “just another individual that died”. It is one month after the trial, and none of Us are where We should be right now. Not many of Us see anything wrong with that because of all of the conditioning. We need organization, but We need reconditioning first. How can that happen when a lot of Us are the way We are?

    Like

    1. @Imhotep

      Exactly. Blackness is devalued in AmeriKKKlan. Many of us have been conditioned by the media and even our own family members to hate ourselves and value Whiteness above all. It is sad that AmeriKKKlan doesn’t see the verdict as a big deal, it is. The verdict just showed me that AmeriKKKlan doesn’t and will never value the life of a Black person.

      Like

  10. @Adeen

    @Imhotep

    Every where on this Earth, white supremacy dominates, not just in America. Look at Brazil and how the Afro-Brazilians are basically in the same boat with poor quality of life issues. Look at England, where the Black West Indians(e.g. Jamaicans,Guyanese,Trinis,etc.) went integration mad with the interracial marriage with whites yet they have the lowest quality of life ratings out of all populations. Look at Australian Aboriginals and their situation basically mirrors the plight of Black America. Same with the Maori, Native Americans, and Native Hawaiians. For us conscious blacks, we just need to keep on learning about white supremacy, how it affects our lives and how to improve our neighborhoods.

    My two cents!

    Like

  11. Andrew Schoultz says:

    Ya know with an IQ average of 85 in the USA and 70 in africa I dont expect much from you people, meaning Blacks. . I encourage you to read up on FBi.gov the crime stats. When 13% of the population commits 48% of all violent crime there is no excuse. Nothing I said is racist only facts that can be found anywhere. So please dont act all suprised when whites and asians and even hispanics treat you differently. We see how your culture is and we are not impressed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

