The Inkwell: One of My Favorite Black Movies

The Inkwell is one of  my all-time favorite movies. It is a coming-of-age story about a young Black men from upstate New York who spends the summer with his cousin in Martha’s Vineyard. The movie is set in the late 1970s and stars Larenz Tate, as a young, awkward Black man who must deal with his emotional issues before blossoming into a secure and confident young man. With the help of a therapist and a first-love, Drew overcomes his issues.

What I love most about the movie is the beautiful Black cast. The Black women are beautiful, the Black men are diverse, realistic and sexy and the music and 70s style clothing is beautiful. The Inkwell was a famous spot for well-to-do Blacks and the movie focuses around the “bougie,” vs. “down-home,” division in the Black community.

Did I mention that the portrayal of Black couples is not only deep and complex, but ultimately very positive.

Check out this clip!

[https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=67V18zxw_EA]

The Inkwell: One of My Favorite Black Movies

One thought on “The Inkwell: One of My Favorite Black Movies

  1. Yeah I like Inkwell too.I haven’t seen it in years. But I remember seeing it in theaters when it came out. I remember leaving the theater thinking it was a refreshing look at black life. It wasn’t as stereotypical as many films are today. It was nice to see black men and women in a different light. I would take Inkwell over any Tyler Perry film today.lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

