The Movie 42: A True Story of An American Legend


I saw the movie 42 yesterday. It is a movie about Jackie Robinson. The first African-American man to play for the Brooklyn Dodgers. It showed the discrimination, abuse and adversity that he faced. Most of the players on the Dodgers team, initially, did not accept Robinson and even started a petition to get him off of the team. But, a few of the white players supported him and looked out for him from the start, one being
Pee Wee Reese. 

 

I really enjoyed the film. I went to see it with my Great Aunt, who is 80. She grew up during segregated times and she once told me about how she was forced to sit in the back of the movie theater  because  that was the “colored section,” and during the summer it would get very very hot.

She sat in the front of the movie theater when we went to see “42.” She told me, afterward, that she enjoyed the movie very much and that men like Robinson made it easier for all of us.

I agree completely.

The cast of the film was great, as well. One of my new favorite actresses, Nicole Behari, portrayed the wife of Jackie Robinson. You may recognize her from the film American Violets, which was a true story about discrimination in the drug war in Texas.

Chadwick Boseman portrays Jackie Robinson wonderfully. I hadn’t seen him in anything before, but he is undeniably talented and I hope to see him in more films soon.

I recommend the film.

Check out the trailer-

 

 

 

 

 

The Movie 42: A True Story of An American Legend

Leave a Reply

