What About Hurricane Sandy?

If you’re living on the Eastern Coast of the United States, I’m sure you’re aware of Hurricane Sandy. The media has been making a huge deal about it. It could be bad…or it could just blow over (no pun intended). I don’t dare say it’s no big deal because they say “pride goes before the fall,” but I will say there’s only so much you can do to prepare for a hurricane and panicking doesn’t help.

I am located in Southeast, so my state is supposed to receive heavy rain and winds, but we aren’t supposed to get the brunt of the storm, but that hasn’t stopped my mom from flipping out when nothing has even happened yet.. We may get some flooding, which can be problematic.

I am more concerned about my flight. Having severe weather right before you’re supposed to fly on a plane, is only adding to my anxiety about flying. Now, I have to worry that the high winds did something to the plane engines or something. IF the Hurricane is really bad, I will be cancelling my trip anyway.

BUT, all you can do is prepare what you can and pray. SO…why be all hyper about it? Maybe, I’m calm because I don’t really fear hurricanes on land, maybe I should. I fear flying…so maybe the way I feel about flying is how other people feel about hurricanes? I mean, I’m concerned a bit about Hurricane Sandy, but I’m not real excited the way certain people are.

I hope the whole thing is just blown out of proportion.

Anyway, I have a book about what to do in case of emergencies, here is an excerpt on Hurricanes:

The following comes from Just In Case: How to be Self-Sufficient When the Unexpected Happens by Kathy Harrison

”  Hurricane is a low pressure weather system that forms in the tropics. In the northern hemisphere, a hurricane comprises a sever thunderstorm accompanied by a counterclockwise circulation of air near the earth’s surface. Hurricanes often spawn tornadoes and cause coastal flooding.”

1. Protect your windows by boarding up with plywood

2. Create a Safe room, which is a room where you have all your survival necessities. They should be in a secure room with no windows and open spaces

3. Be aware of trees with weak limbs, remove the ones you find

4. Stock up dry foods, water, flashlights, batteries, candles etc…

5. Have an evacuation plan

6. Fill up on gas

7. Make sure your car is in good physical condition, maintenance is kept up etc.

8. Turn of utilities if instructed to do so by authorities

9. Move all outdoor loose equipment to safe place (bird baths, toys, hanging plants etc.)

10. If instructed by authorities, evacuate or if you feel you need to

11. IF you don’t evacuate stay indoors, close all your doors and windows, stay in an interior room

P.S.

I saw a flock of geese flying in a V away from my neighborhood today. They say this is a sign of natural disaster. Prior to Tsunami birds fled nesting grounds etc…it could just be a coincidence.

What About Hurricane Sandy?

Leave a Reply

