Death

 

Are you afraid of death? I admit, sometimes I am very afraid, other times I am less afraid. It depends on where I am spiritually. Right now, I’m not going to say how I feel about it. I’m only going to say my spiritual life, I do not feel, is where it should be.

The Bible wants us to serve God, love others as ourselves, help others, forgive others. I believe these are the fundamental principles of having a fruitful life and a fruitful afterlife, but much easier said than done.

I know I have sinned terribly. God knows my sins. I want to serve God, I want to love others, I want to help other and forgive others. I think we all deep in our hearts so desire this.

This is what the Bible says about death:

“For God so loved the world that he gave his only son, that whoever believes in him, shall not perish, but have eternal life.” ( John 3:16)

“For if we live to the Lord, and if we die, we die to the Lord. So then, whether we live or whether we die, we are the Lord’s. ” (Romans 14:8)

Do you think you’re ready for death? We would all hope for a long, fruitful life on earth, but the truth is (and it’s scary to think about) we’re not guaranteed anything, other than Jesus.  We don’t know when our time will be up. If we accept Jesus as our Lord and savior, confess our trespasses, love God,  love and forgive others, then God forgives our sins and we will be with him for eternity.

I’m sure there are things we all need to think about. But I truly believe it’s easier said than done. I believe we must pray a lot to stay in a position where we’re able to serve God and love and forgive others in this world. It’s easy to get caught up in the daily grind, the stress, the monotony of the world and forget.

But, the Bible tells us we must accept Jesus Christ into our hearts,  love and serve God, love and forgive others and God will forgive us our trespasses and we will be with him in Heavan.

What can we do right now to love God, love others and forgive others? Can you think of some things.

Here are things I can try to do:

1. Pray more from my heart: I believe in Jesus and accept him as my Lord and savior, but I think I need to spend more time with him. Praying is a way for us to connect with the Lord. I pray for the strength to love God. I do love the Lord God, but by loving God, I mean serving him and doing my personal best to honor his commandments as the Bible tells us we should.

2. Study the Scripture. I think I could set up a schedule where I could read the word more.

3. Be respectful to others, especially my family. It’s easy to take things out on my family, especially when I’m stressed out. I need to learn to be more respectful to them.

4. Be charitable to others. There are little ways I can be more charitable to others and share the love of Christ with others. In Sunday school, they used to teach that people should be able to look at you and see the love of Christ in you because when you love God & love others, you produce good fruit.

My Prayer:

Dear Lord,

I love and accept Jesus Christ, who died on the cross for my sins and rose from the dead so that we may live, as my Lord and Personal savior. I ask you to forgive me for my trespasses. I love you Lord and I ask you to please help me to forgive others and to love others. Help me to forgive those who’ve hurt me, help me to forgive those who spew racist and terrible words at me. Help me to love them, not resent or hate them. I ask you to take away the fear of death by infusing your love into my life and helping me to share your love with others, not just friends, but enemies too. I ask you to help me pray more, serve you and not the world and I ask you to help me to understand your word and carry this throughout my life. I am sorry for all my sins Jesus Christ, I’m sorry for disrespecting people. I am sorry for not serving you the way that I know I should. I am sorry for taking all the beauty you give me for granted. I love you Lord and I want nothing more than to have a fruitful life in your presence. I want to share your love with others and I want to be with you in paradise when my time on this earth shall pass. Please help me to stay with you Lord always, keep us. Please Jesus Christ, allow your love to carry me through the world. Allow me to depend on you for salvation both in this life and in the after life. I love you Lord.

In Christ Name (we) pray,

Amen.

 

I believe if we love the Lord, we accept Christ into our lives, we love and forgive others, then we have no need to fear death. Maybe when we fear death that means that we need to spend more time with the Lord, then we won’t fear it any more.

Death

2 thoughts on “Death

  1. Buddhuu says:

    My feelings about death vary. I don’t believe in any afterlife so in some ways it terrifies me that my one shot at existence will end. I occasionally have a kind of preview of a moment when I will realise that I am about to end. Especially when I was younger that caused me some problems and I developed an anxiety condition that really only eased when I got into my thirties.

    On the other hand, in my fifties I find that I still experience moments of dread, and there is that feeling of my time slipping away, but on the other hand I know that it is the same for everyone. Death is, indeed, a leveller. It is a destiny that we all share. Billions have gone before me, billions will go after. If nothing else, an end to existence will be a release from fear.

    Reading what I just typed it sounds terribly negative and gloomy. It shouldn’t: I think mortality drives much that is best about humanity. It motivates art, music, literature, charity, companionship.

    I am grateful (even though I don’t believe in a deity to whom that gratitude is due) that I have had a chance to experience life. I have been fortunate and undeniably privileged. I struggle financially and politically but, on balance, my life is good – so much freer from pain than the lives of so many others.

    I think the question of how one feels about death is inseparable from the question of how one feels about life. Death is an aspect of life and awareness of death contributes flavour to life, even if that flavour seems sometimes bitter.

    We cannot change it or avoid it. We must accept it and find what value or positivity we can in it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

