My Struggles with Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome

I went to the gynecologist because I was having irregular periods, then I got a blood test and it was determined that I had a mild hormonal imbalance.  The imbalance was due to polycystic ovarian syndrome (PCOS). MY PCOS isn’t quite as severe as the picture, but I definitely have a mild case brought on by weight gain. It’s kind of embarrassing , but it’s something a lot of women have to deal with. Polycystic ovarian syndrome is when the hormones in a woman’s body become imbalanced, usually the progesterone is too low or androgen too high. This can cause irregular menstrual cycles. The syndrome is worsened by weight gain. I have gained quite a bit of weight over the last year or so. Before when I was a healthy weight, my periods came every month as they were supposed to. But, since I’ve gained weight, I have had very irregular periods. I didn’t get my period for nearly 3 months. I’m menstruating right now, but I know the only way to regulate my cycle is to lose this weight.

Sometimes with polycystic ovarian syndrome, small fluid filled cysts can form on the ovaries and in the long term, this can lead to infertility or even cancer if you don’t either get on medication or lose the weight. PCOS can often be completely eliminated through weight loss and healthy eating habits. This is why there is even more pressure on me to lose weight. If I don’t lose weight, when I want to have children in the near future, that could be a challenge. Now, my PCOS isn’t so severe that I need medication just yet. I can take herbs like Vitex and my period will come, but if I don’t get control of my weight, it could progress to a point where I could need medicine. I’m fortunate because sometimes women who have PCOS can have very imbalanced hormones and sometimes women can grow facial hair from an abundance of androgens (male hormones). My hormone levels aren’t that unbalanced yet, but I have to be careful.

Black women are disproportionately affected by PCOS. This I attribute largely to the obesity epidemic and poorer health care overall. So, this is my challenge. I know I can lose the weight, I am about 30lbs overweight, yes I’ve gained 30 lbs over the last year (sick, I know). I was depressed and eating because I had no friends at college. But, now I’m home and I have to start from square one ALL OVER AGAIN and lose this weight ALL OVER AGAIN! It sucks, but I am going to do it. I’ve thrown my brownies, potato chips and junk food out. I plan to work out consistently, maybe get a personal trainer and I am going to try and eat a salad (with LIGHT dressing) with every meal, double up on fruits and vegetables and cut out the junk food, except once in a while. I also plan to go consistently to weight watchers. With discipline and consistency, I know I can do this.

Plus, I’m sick of being fat.  I know I’ve got a nice shape naturally,  I try not to be a boastful person, but I like my body when it’s in it’s natural shape, I think I look nice. So, I would like to get back to my natural healthy weight and now is the time to lose weight because by summer if I work hard I could have lost more than 30 lbs.

READ MORE ABOUT PCOS HERE

My Struggles with Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome

20 thoughts on “My Struggles with Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome

  1. Eliminate the white stuff: sugar, potatoes, and flour and the pounds will drop. Eliminate fried food. Read labels and understand serving and portion sizes. Realize that most processed foods have sugar in them. Don’t consume anything with more than 5g of sugar. Watch your sodium intake, which adds water weight to your body and can also cause high blood pressure. Understand that once you modify your food intake to lose weight, this will have to be a lifetime change. Diets don’t work but lifestyle changes, do.

    Oh… I almost forgot the dreaded “e” word: exercise. But walking is the best exercise. If you can only do it for 15 minutes a day, something is better than nothing.

    dbg

    Like

    1. thank you so much for the advice. i plan on doing all that, plus I’m SERIOUSLY starting the weight watchers plan today, they teach you all that and more. I’ve done it before, but I’ve never complete the program. but I know it works. If i discipline myself and plan ahead i’m sure i can lose this weight and if i work hard i can keep it off too.

      Like

  2. Saartje says:

    Thank you so much for this article! It was extremely helpful to me. I’m sorry to hear what you’ve been going through. I’ve been going through the same thing and started back eating healthy and working out as a part of my overall plan to be fruitful in all aspects of my life. I wish you the absolute best in your journey to getting healthy again. I know it’s hard, but you can do it.

    Many peace and blessings!

    Like

  3. cynthia says:

    I am struggling with 3 firbriods, my ovaries are not making and estrogen. Because of my age, 41, desire not to have kids, and my ethicity. The OBGYN recommend a totoal hysterectory. It would involve removimg my ovaries, fallopian tubes, uterus , leaving the top if the cervex.I going to get a scecond opinion

    Like

    1. Jules says:

      I wish you well Cynthia, you are still young to be going through so much. If your ovaries are not producing any estrogen, I wonder then why you have three fibroids. I thought fibroids were caused by an overabundance of estrogen in the body. I wonder if there is something they are not telling us since fibroids tend to be a black woman’s issue.

      A high alkaline diet may be beneficial. Simply meaning a diet rich in green leafy vegetables, fruits, nuts and heavily plant based.

      Like

  4. Jessica says:

    Hi! I got linked to your blog because of the movie review. As i strolled down i saw the PCOS thing. I was like what the hell, is it a advertisement? Since i have been researching that the past weeks i thought it was a suggestion link or something.

    Then i realized its a blog entry!

    Thanks for sharing. I found out i have PCOS last week and it was pretty bad. Even my uterus was bleeding, i didnt know at time. I just knew i was losing a lot of blood, and was very weak. I didnt know what was going on. They call it dysfunctional uterine bleeding, PCOS can cause it and i dont know if it will happen again. But im taking hormones everyday, and hopefully it helps.

    Like

  5. I have been battling PCOS since I was 23. I didn’t know what it was at first. I just knew I had very irregular cycles. I’m now in my 30’s and it’s affecting my ability to conceive. This is a very informative post. It’s nice to know that I am not alone in the battle of PCOS. I haven’t come across many black women withit, it’s mostly white women that I come across. The key to fighting PCOS is losing weight but it harder to lose when you have PCOS. I lost 25 pounds last year and that regulated my cycle. I still may have to use fertility drugs to conceive. It never goes away, but you can live a healthy life with it. Thanks for sharing your experience with PCOS!

    Like

  6. whitney says:

    can you site where you found that black women are disproportionately affected by PCOS? I haven’t found any research supporting that statement. also, your PCOS wasn’t brought on by your weight gain. rather, most research suggests, it’s the opposite—your PCOS hormonal imbalance caused your weight gain. also, weight loss isn’t a panacea for PCOS. some women experience a lessening of symptoms, some don’t.

    Like

  7. Fausto Hattman says:

    A period, or menstruation, is the shedding of the endometrium – the lining of the uterus. Menstruation is also called menses. All female humans, as well as a number of other female mammals, have regular periods during their reproductive age. Menstruation, which includes bleeding from the vagina, occurs mainly among humans and similar animals, such as primates. In many mammals, the endometrium is reabsorbed. ,

    Have a look at the helpful piece of writing at our personal website
    <,http://www.foodsupplementdigest.com/vitamin-d3-side-effects/

    Like

Leave a Reply

