I was Chased by a Robot…NO, I’m Not Kidding

I went to go visit my ailing Great Aunt in the hospital today. She fell down, but she is stable. I brought her a framed scripture, with a pretty border. While I was sitting in her room, my mother and I noticed this thing going by, it looked like a machine of some sort. It was a TUG robot. The TUG robot carries the medicine to each room and it can also call the elevator. Needless to say, I guess it’s a clever little thing, but creepy at the same time. I’ve always been a little hesitant about all this robotic stuff. I can’t help but think about the people who lose jobs to robots every day, like in the grocery store where you have the self-check out (that always screws up and stops working and you have to call for assistance from an employee anyway) those take up job slots from people. Now, I know this isn’t I-Robot or anything, but there is just something so creepy about a robot that goes around and calls the elevator. Sometimes it seems like it has a mind of its own.

Well, today when my mother and I left my Aunt to go home, my mother thought it would be funny to tease the robot. She decided to jump in front of it to see what it would do if someone came into it’s path. The TUG robot stopped and changed paths to go around my mother, then my mother jumped in front of it again. Then, all of a sudden, the TUG bot changes paths and comes straight at me, so I moved out of its way and it started coming at me again. It was chasing me or something. I moved and it came at me again and finally it changed and went on it’s way. Now, I don’t know if it malfunctioned or maybe the little motion censor got confused because of my mother and I standing so close to each other. But, it freaked me out I gotta say. Funny, but creepy at the same time. I, Robot all over again… It would have been funny if it had a recording that said “move azz hole.”

It probably got confused because of my mother fooling around with the thing that has a job to do. I mean people need their medicine, you can’t just fool around with equipment like that because if it breaks then what…people are all off schedule for getting their meds and on top of that you’ll have to pay at least $100,000 probably.

It makes me wonder what are robots going to be used for next…like in another 20 years, will robots be the norm? Will they be used in place of cashier? Now, I understand sometimes robots help improve efficiency and they can be helpful, but I don’t think I’d want to interact with a robot over a human on a daily basis.

I know it seems like something out of science fiction, but there has seriously been some consideration to the idea that if we give robots too much power, it could over take the human race in terms of intelligence. A computer named “Deep Fritz,” recently beat the world’s best Chess Champion.  So maybe it’s not so far fetched…

Anyway, it was funny, but creepy. That little TUG bot is a trip…

I was Chased by a Robot…NO, I’m Not Kidding

One thought on “I was Chased by a Robot…NO, I’m Not Kidding

Leave a Reply

