What I’ve Been Up To…

 

Hey there, sorry for my leave of absence. I’ve been working and trying to get some things together. I plan to come back with some more blog posts on various issues. I finally finished reading “At The Dark End of the Street.” It was truly informative. I can’t begin to tell you how it made me feel. It truly opened my eyes and what upset me the most was that these women have been silenced for so many  years, as if nothing ever happened. As if the brutal mistreatment, the sexual abuse against black women by racist white men never occured. It truly hurt me to see that such a fact of history could be completley eliminated from our cultural memory in the United States. Yet, as a black woman, I know this sounds crazy, but I almost felt connected to the stories.

In other news, I’ve been reading other books and contemplating what I’m going to do with my life. I’ve been crying a lot this summer, not sure why. Not in public, but I’ve been crying in the privacy of my bedroom. I’m not a big cryer either. I prefer not to allow others to see me cry, but sometimes you need to cry. This brings me to another question, do you think black women are expected to show emotional vulnerability the same as other women are?

Some people see crying as a sign of weakness, I think crying can actually be good for you when you need to release your emotions. I think often as black women we’re expected to have this hard exterior and keep up a facade of “toughness,” this is part of the reason black women have health issues. I think we should be allowed to cry all we want without fear of ridicule for not being a stereotypical “strong black woman.”

Also…

I am now reading the book “The Wind Done Gone,” by Alice Randall, it is a parody of “Gone With the Wind,” it dismantles the stereotypical asexual mammy image that Hattie McDaniel portrayed in Margaret Mitchell’s 1939 film. If you’ve never seen the film “Gone With the Wind,” I can safely say that it is defintely a classic and it is well written and well performed, but all the positives are almost completely overshadowed by the degrading images of the black people throughout the film. Mammy is cumbersome, bossy and asexual, Prissy is mentally challenged and every other black person in the film is treated basically like a prop. Although the acting is great, the film itself portrays black people so unrealistically.

In the book, there are more details about Scarlett’s life, one detail that was left out of the film is the fact that Scarlett O’hara actually married a Ku Klux Klansmen. In one scene in the book, Scarlett is nearly assaulted by a man, but she is rescued. When her klansmen husband finds out, he and some other men go to search for the man who tried to assault Scarlett. They basically go on a klan raid and end up attacking some men.  Margaret Mitchell portrays the KKK as a noble group, who go out to defend Scarlett’s womanhood. Yes, it’s very sad that the KKK was revered in a book that became an American Classic.

…so on…

How is my love life…? ehhh….that’s for another post.

I’ll be back with some more posts soon and details about some of the things I’ve mentioned here.

What I’ve Been Up To…

4 thoughts on “What I’ve Been Up To…

  1. Milly says:

    I can definitely relate on the ‘strong black woman’ act. Combating sexism and racism can be exhausting. Everyone needs a good cry! The The Wind Done Gone sounds like a great read…and can’t wait to hear about your love life (I’m kinda nosy like that)!

    Like

  2. Gail says:

    Oh wow, I have never read nor liked and only watched a little bit of Gone with the wind – and then only in passing. It annoys me that people embrace that book/movie as an American classic – I hate that it is so degrading, I would think it would make them ashamed. To know that it also glorifies kkk is even more uncomfortable. Whatever…

    It seems like you are crying tears that our ancestors could never find safety to let out, who were the original strong black woman, back when we had to be THAT strong. These days, its a joy that many of us can afford to be vulnerable. In vulnerability there is strength and greater connection. So of course you are crying… for our ancestors… And undoubtedly you are also living their dreams and making them proud… cry the tears and reap the harvest… 🙂

    Like

  3. Matari says:

    Here’s my take.
    When a soul is engulfed in intense sadness, crying can be/is an act of cleansing. A cleansing of the intense anger and/or pain that often accompanies acute sadness. Crying releases/lessens and relieves – stuff. It’s simply a healthy way to let go ..

    And yes, REAP THE HARVEST. : )

    Like

  4. Jules says:

    I have always pondered on the notion that just as women were raped during that period, is it not as possible that males were raped too? I just cannot think that only the women were raped. The only reason we know the women were raped is simply because we see the product of the rape in the mixed race children, but men can never give birth so we never heard their stories. As far as history tells us homosexuality was rampant in England and France during that era, and both countries were bastions in the salve trade, so it is very plausible to assume the men were raped as well.

    I have seen Gone with the Wind and read the book one summer. It really is a masterpiece in trauma literature. But I have not gotten around to the Wind done Gone, thanks for reminding me of that book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

