No Time To Pray

The Difference (No Time To Pray)

I got up early one morning and rushed right into the day;
I had so much to accomplish, I didn’t have time to pray.


Problems just tumbled about me and grew heavier with each task;
Why doesn’t God help me, I wondered; He answered, “You didn’t ask.”

 

I wanted to see joy and beauty, but the day toiled on, gray and bleak;
I wondered why God didn’t show me – He said, “But you didn’t seek.”

I tried to come into God’s presence; I used all my keys at the lock;
God gently and lovingly chided, “My child, you didn’t knock.”

I woke up early this morning and paused before entering the day;
I had so much to accomplish that I had to take time to pray.

– Grace L. Naessens

 

The first time I saw this poem was at my grandmother’s house. It was painted onto a beautiful ceramic book with flowers bordering the poem. I think its very beautiful and Grace Naessens is truly gifted.

 

I think we could all learn from this beautiful poem. Prayer is so important. Sometimes we get so bogged down with other things that we can forget to pray. However, prayer is the foundation of our being. Prayer is the way we speak and commune with God and through God all things are possible. I struggle sometimes with ‘finding time’ to pray and I can relate to this poem. Not praying makes things much more difficult. I notice that whenever I forget to pray or neglect to pray, I tend to become much more agitated and easily rattled. When I pray and read scripture, it changes me, I can cope better with the stress of life and I know I have more support. If you feel like you don’t have time to pray, MAKE TIME. If it means getting up 5 or 10 minutes earlier or going to bed 5 or 10 minutes later, make time, it will be worth it. You can even pray in the shower, it’s better than no prayer at all. But prayer is so important, God wants to speak with us and prayer is precious.

 

I know that something I personally struggle with is sometimes feeling inadequate when praying. I feel like if I haven’t been living right or if I’ve been doing something I shouldn’t have, I am not worthy of speaking with God and I know this is nothing but satan trying to keep me from God. Even in our worst, we can always turn to God. In fact, Romans 8:14 says “The true children of God are those who let God’s spirit lead them.” It’s impossible to overcome sin or the struggles I have without prayer. I am praying that God will convict my heart and allow me to turn to him even when I feel unworthy of his love. I truly pray this. This poem helps remind me that prayer is so important and that God wants to speak with me and that all we have to do is ask and seek God through our prayer and God will take care of us.

 

No Time To Pray

Leave a Reply

