Black Women History: At the Dark End of the Street Book Trailer

Black Women History Post:

This is a book about the rape of black women during Jim Crow and the influence that this had on the civil rights movement.  I never heard the stories of any of these women, until I saw this trailer. I had always been aware that some black women sometimes got raped during Ku Klux Klan Raids throughout the Jim Crow era, but I had no idea of the significant role this played in the civil rights movement. I remember reading “Warriors Don’t Cry,” by Melba Patillo Beals and in her memoir, she writes about an incident where she was nearly raped by a white man on the day that Brown v. Board of Education passed. I guess maybe this was more common than people care to talk about. This post hits close to home because Ms. Recy Taylor  and my grandmother were born in the same year. My grandmother would have been around the same age when the Recy Taylor incident occured. I remember my grandmother telling us stories about how she couldn’t try on clothes in the department stores because people thought that black people were “too dirty,” she could only buy them and hope they would fit. Sometimes I wonder how my grandmother (God rest her soul) and other people of that generation made it through such hard times.

According to this book, much of the civil rights movement began because of the sexual abuse of black women, yet we seldom learn about any of this in schools. I haven’t read any of this in my history text books and certainly didn’t learn about it in school…We’ve come a long way, but we still have ways to go obviously…

 I will definitely be writing a review of this book when I’m finished reading. 

At the Dark End of the Street: http://atthedarkendofthestreet.com/

Black Women History: At the Dark End of the Street Book Trailer

16 thoughts on “Black Women History: At the Dark End of the Street Book Trailer

  1. Menelik Charles says:

    This book was pointed out to me not more than a week ago and I already have it on order. Saw the trailer and read the reviews and I simply cannot wait to read what will surely be both a riveting and disturbing read.

    God bless our sisters in struggle and may the rest in peace.

    menelik charles
    london uk

    Like

    1. Menelik Charles says:

      No problem. I can’t wait to read what is the real, underlying, reason for the growth of the most significant Movement in US society not this silly cover story about one woman refusing to give up her seat to a white boy!

      I hope the book is as engrossing as it first appears.

      Like

  2. Menelik Charles says:

    Yes,

    and again, there is a psychological reason for the powers that be (white men and women) to ignore/erase this history, and so ignore/erase the evidence:

    http://clutchmagonline.com/2011/01/can-you-see-me-now-are-black-women-invisible-study-says-yes/

    The Black woman is a ‘crime scene’ given so many unspeakable crimes have been committed against her. She has been reduced to the ‘mammy’ of the house who is often ignored until Negro wisdom is sought (see Oprah).

    The Black man, by contrast, is always seen given he is percieved as the main threat to the white psych

    Like

  3. Kelly C says:

    I was shocked years ago when I read about the Tulsa Race Riots & how bombs were dropped from airplanes on Blacks & how I never knew about a Black Wall Street & now this! Menelik Charles posted a message regarding that Asian “scientist” & his view of the attractiveness of Black women & how he’s writing a book on the reasons why white women hate us so. Well, if my Black man & his buddies regularly had their way with white women, coming home & talking & laughing about it with his friends, not bothering to wash off the smell of those women, catching him out of the corner of my eye sneaking a lustful look at those white women & me having to interact with them…not on your life. I would want them to sit in the back of the bus & drink from separate fountains & I surely wouldn’t want one of those “whores” washing her hands next to me in a public bathroom. I would need to separate myself from “them” and be reassured on a daily basis that “they” are ugly/unattractive/not the ideal of beauty in any sense of the word. I understand. I almost feel sorry for white women…the racist ones. I will be buying that book also & I read a bit of it on google books. At this point I can’t stop crying. Why is it that we as Blacks don’t tell our own history amongst ourselves. WE should know this. And the rest of the world should be privy to what we Black women have gone through since it’s now happening in Africa & where NATO troops happen to be.Thank you sooo much for your blog.

    Like

    1. i too was shocked about the tulsa riots and the tuskeegee experiment i never learned about any of these things in history at school and i certainly didn’t learn about how black women were raped during jim crow, i knew a little about black women getting raped during klan raids but i had no idea of the significance it played in the civil rights movement. if you look at slave narratives, you’ll notice many times the white mistress took her anger out on the black female slave when a white male slave owner raped, impregnated or sexually abused his slave. it caused a lot of tension and yes it cause jealousy, which fueled more racism against black women and black men.

      Like

  4. […] The Mandingo stereotype comes out of slavery and the reconstruction. Throughout slavery,  Black men were treated as sexual objects to be bred and used to increase the wealth and prosperity of the slave master. It wasn’t uncommon for a Black man to be sent out to other plantations to impregnate Black women of childbearing age. I remember reading in the slave narratives about how sometimes Black men and Black women were forced to have intercourse in front of the white overseer if the master felt they weren’t having children fast enough. In the book The Bluest Eye, Toni Morrison tells a story of a young Black couple who is forced to have intercourse while strange white men watch. This act of voyeurism was not only a way to violate Black people, but it denied Black people the right to define their sexuality and own their bodies.  When the Reconstruction occurred, the Black Brute Caricature became a stereotype that was used to control Black men and keep Black people subjugated.  The Black brute was known for his uncontrollable sexual appetite, large genitals, his brute strength, unintelligent nature and his thirst for young white women. We all know the history of lynching and how white women have been put on a pedestal of purity, while Black women have been portrayed and treated as inherently dirty, inferior and impure.  It wasn’t uncommon for a Black man to be lynched for looking at a white woman, while Black women were regularly gang-raped and abused by white men throughout slavery, the reconstruction and Jim Crow. […]

    Like

  5. Hmm it seems like your site ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly
    enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any tips and hints for rookie blog writers? I’d certainly
    appreciate it.

    Like

    1. hmmm i’ll search for ur comment. I’m sorry it got deleted. Congrats on starting your blog. My advice would be to post regularly and post about what interest you and write in a voice that is comfortable to you. Posting regulalry means at least one a week, but a few times a week would bring in more followers. you should check out abagond he’s been blogging since 2006. Thank you so much for the support. 🙂

      Like

  6. Its like you learn my mind! You appear to grasp so much approximately this, such as you wrote the e-book in it or
    something. I believe that you just can do with a few %
    to pressure the message house a bit, however instead of that,
    this is excellent blog. An excellent read. I’ll certainly be back.

    Like

  7. Thanks for a marvelous posting! I really enjoyed reading it, you could be a great
    author.I will make certain to bookmark your blog and definitely will come back sometime soon.
    I want to encourage you continue your great work, have a nice holiday weekend!

    Like

      1. AnthonyLT says:

        I know that this day meant noting at all to Frederick Douglass, but I hope you have a wonderful 4th of July, Miss Peanut. Thank you for an absolutely wonderful blog!!!

        Like

Leave a Reply

