I am very late on this topic, I’ve been busy with other things, but I must chime in. I tried to stay away from the Donald Sterling controversy because it was futile to me to focus on one man when the problem is the institution as a whole. So, Mr. Sterling likes to associate with half-black women, but hates Black people. Nothing unique about that. We’ve seen that throughout history. Have we forgotten about Thomas Jefferson, Thomas Thistlewood or Strom Thurmond? All of these white men slept with at least partly Black women, yet all of them held racist views towards Black people. I am not at all shocked, the news about Donald Sterling didn’t particularly interest me because I had heard it all before. However, what gets to me is not the fact that he had a relationship with a Black/Latina woman, who clearly has her own problems with her identity, it’s the fact that he said this,

“I support them and give them food, and clothes, and cars, and houses. Who gives it to them? Does someone else give it to them? Do I know that I have—Who makes the game? Do I make the game, or do they make the game? Is there 30 owners, that created the league?”

This statement should be a wake up call to all Black people, especially Black professional athletes. Just remember Donald Sterling is only one man expressing his views, but ask yourself this. How many Black players are there in the NBA and how many Black owners are there of those sports teams? Who are you really playing for and where is your hard-earned money going to?

Just remember years ago, Black folks were allowed to entertain white folks, dance, sing and perform and white folks happily watched, but at the end of the day, the black folks had to go out of the back door and exit through the kitchen. The message being, you can entertain us, but don’t you dare think that you’re one of us. As Donald Sterling put so bluntly, “you’re like an enemy to me.”

Fame and money will only take you so far, as a Black person, when you are not even running the game. So I can’t say that I am terribly surprised by Donald Sterling’s comments. I am surprised that more Black people still haven’t opened their eyes to reality. You may have some  dollars, but just remember while you’re being paid millions, those who own you are bringing in billions. The minute you step out of line, you “become an enemy to them.” Think about that next time you, as a Black person, think you’ve made it.

There are many a Donald Sterlings out there.