I am thrilled that Lupita Nyong’o, a beautiful, educated Black woman has been given credit for portraying the tragic story of Patsey in Twelve Years a Slave. I wept at her portrayal, but I have to say Black folks, why are we so excited about Hollywood giving Black folks some credit?

Hasn’t Hollywood shown us time and again, as an industry, that they couldn’t give two sh*ts about Black people? This is the same industry that put up Precious, The Help and Gone with the Wind as examples of the Black experience, so why are we jumping up and down when they finally throw us some crumbs and a bone??

I don’t know about y’all but I would trade in a single Oscar for a Black-owned production company where Black people could put out thousands of our own movies, with our own  movie stars and tell our own stories any day. Don’t get it twisted, I am happy for Ms. Nyong’o, she is talented, intelligent and beautiful and she deserved her credit, but I don’t want Black people to get blinded by the glitz and glam of white Hollywood and think that we’ve arrived and FORGET  what Hollywood has done to help the Black community… which is essentially nothing! 

In the long run, a single Oscar will not change much for Black people…if we want change, we need to start owning the production companies, owning the money and creating stars ourselves…then we can have our own BLACK OSCARS and they’ll carry just as much, (if not more prestige) as Hollywood Oscars.

So, let’s not get carried away and be too forgiving of Hollywood. I LOVE LUPITA, but let’s get a clue here.